The A Level Programme has a worldwide reputation for providing learners with rigorous educational challenge in preparation for study in the world’s leading universities.


In May 2009, the Beijing Municipal Education Committee authorised Beijing National Day School (BNDS) to integrate approved foreign courses into the compulsory national curriculum under the Sino-Foreign Educational Cooperation Program Act. In June of that year, Cambridge International Examinations certified BNDS as an official Cambridge exam centre.

Cambridge International AS & A Level is typically for learners aged 15 to 18 years who need advanced study to prepare for university and higher education. Cambridge A levels build on the foundations that students have developed within their Chinese curriculum programme.

Thousands of learners worldwide gain places at leading universities every year with Cambridge International AS & A Levels. The AS & A Level syllabi are designed to develop a deep understanding of subjects as well as independent thinking skills.


Cambridge Advanced curricula prepare learners for university study, which is why universities worldwide value and recognise Cambridge International AS & A Level qualifications.

Cambridge International AS & A Level develops learners’ knowledge, understanding, and skills in:

  • In-depth subject content.
  • Independent thinking.
  • Applying knowledge and understanding to new or familiar situations.
  • Handling and evaluating different types of information source.
  • Thinking logically and presenting ordered and coherent arguments.
  • Making judgments, recommendations, and decisions.
  • Presenting reasoned explanations, understanding implications and communicating them logically and clearly.
  • Working and communicating in English.

BNDS offers a wide range of the Cambridge AS & A2 level subjects and can offer them in many combinations. This flexibility allows us to build an individualised curriculum, and learners can choose to specialise in a particular subject area or study a range of subjects.

Students will typically study for their AS Levels in Mathematics in Grade 10, whilst the AS examinations for other subjects are taken in Grade 11. To complete a full A Level, students must continue to study for a further year on top of their AS and then sit an A2 exam in Grade 12.

Qualification and Recognition

Students can choose from a range of assessment options to gain Cambridge International AS & A Level qualifications, depending on students’ choices in combining AS & A level subjects.

Learners use Cambridge International AS & A Levels to gain places at leading universities worldwide including the UK, USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Singapore and many other countries.

UK NARIC, the national agency in the UK for the recognition and comparison of international qualifications and skills, has carried out an independent benchmarking study of Cambridge International AS & A Level and found it to be comparable to the standard of UK AS & A Level. This means students can be confident that their Cambridge International AS & A Level qualifications are accepted as grade-for-grade equivalent, grade for grade, to UK AS & A Levels by leading universities worldwide.

A Level Examinations

International A Level examinations are managed by CAIE, a division of Cambridge Assessment. CAIE organises these examinations twice a year – the first one in May/June and the second one in October/November. One can apply for retake examinations if they receive unsatisfactory grades. AS Level has five grades: A, B, C, D, and E (excluding the failing Grade U, which stands for unclassified). The full A Level has six grades with the addition of an A* as the highest grade achievable. When a student is awarded three to four As or above, he or she is more likely to be admissible the world’s most selective universities, including those in the UK, the USA, Canada, and Australia.


Percentage of students achieving A* marks – BNDS Vs. World (2018)


Percentage of students achieving marks between A* & C – BNDS Vs. World (2018)